QUESTION I’ve set up a Wi-Fi network on my Windows laptop and want to connect to it from my Android phone. I scanned for Wi-Fi networks on my handset, but my network didn’t appear. Other devices such as laptops are able to see and connect to it. On my Windows laptop my connection reports that it is ‘Waiting for users’, but my Android device just can’t find it. Can you help? theinlinaung2010 HELPROOM ANSWER It sounds as though you’re setting up an Ad Hoc network on your laptop. By default, Android won’t connect to Ad Hoc networks, so these networks won’t show up when you search for new wireless connections. Third-party Ad Hoc enablers are available for Android, but they have many known problems and incompatibilities. You could try WiFi Ad Hoc enabler for Android, or the solution given at Android tablet hacks. We haven’t tried either, so use them at your own risk. They also require a fairly high level of technical knowledge to install. Depending on the capabilities of your smartphone, you may find it easier to set up your phone as a Wi-Fi hotspot and connect the laptop to that. On our Samsung Galaxy S2 this is possible by opening Settings and selecting More, ‘Tethering and portable hotspots’ and enabling ‘Portable Wi-Fi hotspot’.